top of page

Believing In Yourself

We all have a past and we have all made mistakes. I have made tons of mistakes. I look back at my life and I definitely did not see me being where I am now. Right now I'm working in the Information Technology Dept at the company I work for, I started out in receiving. Usually most companies want you to have a degree to get a job in that field and I can tell you I do not have a degree. I had put in for a call center job to get out of receiving, it was starting to be too much on me. I messed up showing them I was really good at my job, after that I was expected to do alot. When I interviewed for the call center position after speaking with the president of the company for about 30-45 minutes, I was made aware that I was not going to be put in the call center. Instead, she was opening a position in the IT department for me. EVEN BETTER!!! I was hype. Computers, internet, networking has always been my field of interest but It knew I didn't have the stuff that most companies wanted, college education....degrees, etc etc. This is the best opportunity I have ever had in my life and to think that I am a person with 2 felonies on my record and I get an opportunity like this, it was pretty exciting for me. Going back to my past, I was locked up a few times. Lost everything more than once. Hitting rock bottom is the hardest thing to experience. I helped friends out when they had hit rock bottom, but let me tell ya when it happened to me wasn't a soul looking out for me. It took me years to open my eyes to the fact that people I did so much for and thought were friends, were not friends. When I was locked up for a dui, back in 2017, they told us to change our people, places and things. Well I ended up doing just that. I can vouch that it does make a HUGE difference. My only wish is I wish had done this alot sooner than what I did. At 40 years old I don't have a retirement set up, my credit is not that great but I"m working on it, I'm renting instead of owning a home, it's like I have let my entire life just pass me by and didn't do anything I had really wanted to do. Now I am all late and wrong but, I'm still doing it anyway. Truth is, I never really knew what I wanted to do with my life. I mean, I know I love bartending but I can't make a career out of that. I definitely want to stick with this IT job because that is more of a career path for me and it's also something I really enjoy doing. I also thought about some other things I really wanted to do like write a book and start this blog. Granted no one may be paying attention to it but I'm not going to give up on it. I'm going to continue to post stuff everyday and maybe one day it'll blow up big or maybe it won't. Maybe some of my stories will help someone feel better or even help someone or maybe it won't. I have lots of stories, I also have ears that listen and a mouth that can give out great advice. I've been through alot during my lifetime, not saying I have had it worse than everyone but I definitely know I've had it worse than some. At 40 years old I'm getting it right. I have a 18 year old son that's about to leave for college. At that age I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. I have to say I'm very proud that he makes better decisions than what I did at that age, makes me very proud of him. I know if I could go back in time, I wouldn't change anything except taking life a little bit more seriously than I did. Maybe if I had I'd be in a much better position than what I am now. That's for sure. I didnt plan for anything, so that means I'll probably be working until the day I die. It's sad, but also at the same time my own doing. I don't doubt that things may get better for me in the future, maybe soon maybe later. I am working on some thing and maybe just maybe I'll run into some luck. I just wanted to put this out there because I know alot of people don't have confidence in themselves or are always thinking negative about things. Let me tell ya you can push yourself to do anything. Many mornings it is hard for me to get out of bed and start my day, most of the time I am in a lot of pein, but you know what I get up no matter how hard it is. Don't ever have doubt, when you do you'll never push for the things you dream of. Find something to be your motivation. My motivation is my kids. I screwed up alot as their mother and it was time to get it right. It was time to get my life right, get myself right. I still have my flaws and I still makes mistakes, but no where near as bad as I use to. Positive things can happen to you if you want them to. Just have to believe.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


RAGE

OUT

LOUD!!

bottom of page